Publisher: Penguin UK

No Way Back by MJ Arlidge (3/5)

Posted August 11, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

No Way Back by MJ Arlidge (3/5)No Way Back Published by Penguin UK on August 11th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Crime, Mystery & Detective, Women Sleuths, General, Suspense
Pages: 40
Format: Kindle
View on Goodreads

A treat for fans of DI Helen Grace: an ebook short story from Top Ten Sunday Times bestselling author M. J. Arlidge.
Jodie's arriving at her third children's home. She's only fifteen.Maybe this time will be different. She'll be safe. Looked after.
But the truth is Jodie has no one left to protect her.She must defend herself. She must change.
PRAISE FOR M.J. ARLIDGE:
'Helen Grace is one of the greatest heroes to come along in years' JEFFERY DEAVER'The new Jo Nesbo' JUDY FINNIGAN
'Fast paced and nailbitingly tense ... gripping' SUN
'DI Helen Grace is a genuinely fresh heroine ... MJ Arlidge weaves together a tapestry that chills to the bone'Daily Mail'Chilling stuff' Fabulist
'A chilling read' My Weekly 'A grisly, gripping thriller' Sunday Mirror
'Gruesomely realistic, intriguing and relentless. Arlidge's fledgling army of fans is about to grow' Sunday Sport
'Eeny Meeny debuts one of the best new series detectives, Helen Grace. Determined, tough and damaged, she must unravel a terrifying riddle of a killer kidnapping victims in pairs. Mesmerizing!' Lisa Gardner
'Expertly pulled off. It has a devious premise. DI Helen Grace is fiendishly awesome. It's scary as all hell. And it has a full cast of realistically drawn, interesting characters that make the thing read like a bullet' Will Lavender
'A fast-paced, twisting police procedural and thriller that's sure to become another bestseller' Huffington Post

I’m a huge fan of MJ Arlidge and have read and reviewed all his books released up until now. With the exception of one, I have loved them! I’m also eagerly awaiting the 6th book in the series – Hide and Seek – which is due to be released next month. So when I spotted on Twitter that there was a new short story out, I bought it straight away.

This is a prequel to the Helen Grace series, and as such really needs to be read after the main series of books in order to give the necessary background and context. Without wanting to give away too much about the stories in the series, it covers Helen’s time in a children’s home immediately following the death of her parents.

It’s a very short book – 40 or so pages, which I read in about 20 minutes. But priced at 99p it’s not the biggest financial outlay and it was an entertaining story. I could have done with it being longer – but that’s only because I love Arlidge’s writing so much and wanted to get more into the characters. But even at such a short length, it still packs a punch.

My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry (2/5)

Posted July 5, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

My Husband’s Wife by Jane Corry (2/5)My Husband's Wife by Jane Corry
Published by Penguin UK on May 26th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Suspense, Contemporary Women, Crime, General, Psychological, Young Adult, Action & Adventure
Pages: 528
View on Goodreads

A little white lie never hurt anyone...OR DID IT?The addictive psychological thriller everyone's talking about!'My head's still spinning from all the twists!' Mark Edwards
FIRST COMES LOVE. THEN COMES MARRIAGE. THEN COMES MURDER.
When lawyer Lily marries Ed, she's determined to make a fresh start. To leave the past behind. Even if it means a little white lie or two.
But then she meets a convicted murderer, who reminds her of someone she used to know. And soon Lily will risk anything to free him.
Where does the lying end...and murder begin?
MY HUSBAND'S WIFE is a thriller with so many twists you won't be able to put it down, perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Clare Mackintosh and C. L. Taylor.
'Twisty, feverish and utterly gripping, My Husband's Wife is the perfect summer read' Eva Dolan
'This thrilling page-turner kept me guessing till the very end' Katerina Diamond
'A fantastic and powerful novel of heart-pounding suspense, expertly written to draw the reader in and never let go!' Kathryn Croft
'I have been thoroughly immersed in this novel...full of unexpected twists I didn't see coming! ' Luana Lewis
'My Husband's Wife had me gripped from the first page to the last. A fascinating cast of characters, each concealing a dark secret...' Ava Marsh
'Gripping and compelling, My Husband's Wife is a fascinating tale that you will think about long after turning the final page' Rowan Coleman
'My Husband's Wife is a thrilling page-turner that chronicles the nightmarish dynamics within a marriage.' Sarah Ward
'Corry has written a very impressive debut. I couldn't put it down!' LJ Ross
'A dark and gripping thriller that vibrates with tension. Jane Corry has created an exciting and complex tale that sank its teeth into me on the first page and never let go...A must-read for thriller lovers' Kate Furnivall
'[A] roller coaster of suspense and intrigue... A cleverly constructed novel in which we have no idea who we can trust' Rosanna Ley
'The two strong women characters and the twists and turns of the plot will keep you on the edge of your seat right through to the surprising and shocking ending' Mavis Cheek
'Pick up this book and you won't be able to put it down. A fast-moving story of drama, suspense and emotional entanglement with a good sprinkling of evil threaded through' Sandra Howard
'A compelling thriller! I thoroughly enjoyed every fast turning page' Vanessa Ronan, author of The Last Days of Summer
'A gripping page turner that twists and turns right until the very end' Catherine Alliott

The title of this book drew me in initially, and I had high hopes for it as a psychological thriller. Unfortunately it was a distinctly average read.

The book is slow to start and jumps between the stories of the two main female characters – Lily, a married London lawyer, and Carla, a young school-girl who lives next door to Lily and her husband, Ed. The pace doesn’t really pick up until you’re a good part way through the book, and by then it’s obvious what’s going to happen. There’s no tension or thrill, and I found the relationships – between all the characters – tiresome and unrealistic and the storyline implausible.

In short – I just couldn’t buy into this book.

Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty (4/5)

Posted July 3, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty (4/5)Three Wishes by Liane Moriarty
Published by Penguin UK on January 28th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Contemporary Women, General
Pages: 448
View on Goodreads

They say trouble always comes in threes. And for sisters Lyn, Cat and Gemma Kettle, the year they turn thirty-three is no exception.
Sensible Lyn is struggling to balance being a mother, wife and businesswoman without losing her mind. Cat, whose perfect marriage is the envy of all her friends, never suspects that her husband has been hiding a secret that will tear her life apart. And directionless Gemma, who changes jobs and boyfriends every few months, has just met a new man who could be the one to unlock her hidden past.
Through everything, the bonds of the sisters are strong enough to withstand whatever life throws at them. That is until the night of their thirty-fourth birthday dinner, when home truths are revealed and things are said that can't be taken back . . .
ACCLAIM FOR THE AUTHOR:
'Funny, and Dramatic, with vibrant characters, it's a delight' Sunday Mirror

Moriarty is a relatively new author for me, but I’m thoroughly enjoying her books. This one is set around the lives of triplets Lyn, Cat and Gemma Kettle, as they approach their 34th birthday.

This book was originally released in 2001, so it does contain some dated references. That said, it’s still a great read.

Eeny Meeny by M.J. Arlidge

Posted November 25, 2015 in Book Review / 0 Comments

Eeny Meeny by M.J. ArlidgeEeny Meeny (Helen Grace, #1) by M.J. Arlidge
Published by Penguin UK on May 8th 2014
Genres: Crime, Fiction, Psychological Thriller, Thrillers
Pages: 437
Format: Library Book, Paperback
Buy on Amazon.co.uk | Buy on BookDepository
View on Goodreads

Two hostages. One bullet. One lives. One dies.
They were going to spend the rest of their lives together. Soul mates. But when a young couple wakes up alone together, disorientated and trapped, they are yet to grasp the true horror of their situation. They have no food, no water. Instead there is a gun loaded with a single bullet and a mobile phone with enough power only to deliver a short message: ‘when one of you kills the other, the survivor will walk free’. For their captor it’s simple: set the scene, watch, wait and leave the victims to do the killing. Tortured by fear, desperation, starvation and thirst, there’s only one way to end their ordeal: one of them must die.
DI Helen Grace and her team know they are hunting a complex predator whose broken survivors must endure their role as living calling cards. And killers. The victims - work colleagues, a mother and daughter, a pair of dancers - appear to be chosen at random and yet the planning is meticulous. There must be something driving the choice of victims, but until DI Grace can establish a connection, the killer is unreachable. A breakthrough is elusive and then, terrifyingly, the investigation begins to turn full circle...
In this startling highwire drama M.J. Arlidge throws us headlong into a chilling race to stop evil in its tracks. Dark, ingenious and bullet-paced, Eeny Meeny introduces a major new thriller writing talent.

Sometimes a book appeals to you so much you pick it up in the library only to discover when you get home the exact same book is already on Mt. TBR! That’s exactly what happened with “Eeny Meeny“.

The premise is engaging and terrifying. Two people are abducted. They’re locked somewhere remote and unknown; given no food or water, and just told there’s a gun with one bullet in it. Whoever lives gets to leave. It’s so simple, but leaves your blood running cold at the thought of it. After a series of abductions, DI Helen Grace has to try and track down the perpetrator before they strike again. But it soon becomes clear that this is not just a series of random abductions and that something even more sinister may be going on.

This book grabbed me right from the start and I have to say I don’t think I read less than 100 pages in any one sitting. It was gripping stuff and a true page-turner (leading to a few really late nights). It’s one of those books with twists and turns around every corner, which just makes you desperate to know what happens in the end. It was fantastic!

It would have been a 5 star read for me, but I had to knock half a star off due to one very slight niggle in the story …

View Spoiler »

… But I’ll round it back up to 5 stars for GoodReads!

This really was a brilliant book. I already have “Liar Liar” on Mt. TBR, and Aldridge’s other books on my wishlist already.