Author: M.J. Arlidge

Hide & Seek by MJ Arlidge

Posted August 18, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

Hide & Seek by MJ ArlidgeHide and Seek (DI Helen Grace #6) by M.J. Arlidge
Published by Penguin Books (UK) on 8th September 2016
Genres: Contemporary, Crime, Fiction, Psychological Thriller
Pages: 368
Format: ARC, Kindle
Source: NetGalley
View on Goodreads

I was absolutely over the moon when I received the notification from NetGalley that I had been selected to receive an ARC of Arlidge’s latest book in the Helen Grace series. Little Boy Blue finished on a cliffhanger and this book picks up from where LBB left off.

Obviously I can’t say too much about the story as the book isn’t released until next month, but what I will say is that it is ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!! It picks up the storyline really well, and the events which unfold once again leave the reader on the edge of their seats wanting to know what will happen next.

Thankfully, Hide & Seek wraps up the story started in LBB, but the ending will still have you racing to know what happens next.

Another fantastic book from MJ Arlidge who is fast becoming one of my all-time favourite authors!!

No Way Back by MJ Arlidge (3/5)

Posted August 11, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

No Way Back by MJ Arlidge (3/5)No Way Back Published by Penguin UK on August 11th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Thrillers, Crime, Mystery & Detective, Women Sleuths, General, Suspense
Pages: 40
Format: Kindle
View on Goodreads

A treat for fans of DI Helen Grace: an ebook short story from Top Ten Sunday Times bestselling author M. J. Arlidge.
Jodie's arriving at her third children's home. She's only fifteen.Maybe this time will be different. She'll be safe. Looked after.
But the truth is Jodie has no one left to protect her.She must defend herself. She must change.
PRAISE FOR M.J. ARLIDGE:
'Helen Grace is one of the greatest heroes to come along in years' JEFFERY DEAVER'The new Jo Nesbo' JUDY FINNIGAN
'Fast paced and nailbitingly tense ... gripping' SUN
'DI Helen Grace is a genuinely fresh heroine ... MJ Arlidge weaves together a tapestry that chills to the bone'Daily Mail'Chilling stuff' Fabulist
'A chilling read' My Weekly 'A grisly, gripping thriller' Sunday Mirror
'Gruesomely realistic, intriguing and relentless. Arlidge's fledgling army of fans is about to grow' Sunday Sport
'Eeny Meeny debuts one of the best new series detectives, Helen Grace. Determined, tough and damaged, she must unravel a terrifying riddle of a killer kidnapping victims in pairs. Mesmerizing!' Lisa Gardner
'Expertly pulled off. It has a devious premise. DI Helen Grace is fiendishly awesome. It's scary as all hell. And it has a full cast of realistically drawn, interesting characters that make the thing read like a bullet' Will Lavender
'A fast-paced, twisting police procedural and thriller that's sure to become another bestseller' Huffington Post

I’m a huge fan of MJ Arlidge and have read and reviewed all his books released up until now. With the exception of one, I have loved them! I’m also eagerly awaiting the 6th book in the series – Hide and Seek – which is due to be released next month. So when I spotted on Twitter that there was a new short story out, I bought it straight away.

This is a prequel to the Helen Grace series, and as such really needs to be read after the main series of books in order to give the necessary background and context. Without wanting to give away too much about the stories in the series, it covers Helen’s time in a children’s home immediately following the death of her parents.

It’s a very short book – 40 or so pages, which I read in about 20 minutes. But priced at 99p it’s not the biggest financial outlay and it was an entertaining story. I could have done with it being longer – but that’s only because I love Arlidge’s writing so much and wanted to get more into the characters. But even at such a short length, it still packs a punch.

Liar Liar by MJ Arlidge

Posted April 14, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

Liar Liar by MJ ArlidgeLiar Liar (Helen Grace #4) by M.J. Arlidge
Published by Penguin on September 10th 2015
Genres: Crime, Fiction, Psychological Thriller
Pages: 314
Format: Paperback
Buy on Amazon.co.uk | Buy on BookDepository
View on Goodreads

In the dead of night, three raging fires light up the city skies. It's more than a tragic coincidence. For DI Helen Grace the flames announce the arrival of an evil she has never encountered before.
Because this is no firestarter seeking sick thrills, but something more chilling: a series of careful, calculating acts of murder.
But why were the victims chosen? What's driving the killer? And who will be next?
A powder keg of fear, suspicion and dread has been laid. Now all it needs is a spark to set it off . . .

This is the fourth book in Arlidge’s Helen Grace series. This time Grace is plunged into an arson investigation. Numerous fires are being started every night in Southampton causing damage and putting lives at risk. As the nights go on, and the number of fires increases, Grace is under pressure to bring the perpetrator to justice.

I have enjoyed most of Arlidge’s books – Pop Goes the Weasel, #2 in the series, is the only exception. Liar Liar is another good, fast paced book, but I have to say it’s not quite up there with his best. The storyline is good, but I felt it tailed off a little towards the middle, and limped towards an ending that was pretty obvious way before it should have been. That said, it’s still a great thriller and well worth a read.

The Doll’s House by MJ Arlidge (4/5)

Posted March 20, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

The Doll’s House by MJ Arlidge (4/5)The Doll's House (Helen Grace, #3) by M.J. Arlidge
Published by Penguin on February 12th 2015
Genres: Crime, Fiction, Psychological Thriller
Pages: 434
Buy on Amazon.co.uk | Buy on BookDepository
View on Goodreads

The Doll's House is the new twisting and terrifying thriller in the Detective Inspector Helen Grace series from M.J. Arlidge.
Arlidge is the author of Eeny Meeny and Pop Goes the Weasel, and has been dubbed 'the new Jo Nesbo'.
A young woman wakes up in a cold, dark cellar, with no idea how she got there or who her kidnapper is. So begins her terrible nightmare.
Nearby, the body of another young woman is discovered buried on a remote beach. But the dead girl was never reported missing - her estranged family having received regular texts from her over the years. Someone has been keeping her alive from beyond the grave.
For Detective Inspector Helen Grace it's chilling evidence that she's searching for a monster who is not just twisted but also clever and resourceful - a predator who's killed before.
And as Helen struggles to understand the killer's motivation, she begins to realize that she's in a desperate race against time . . .

I’m rattling through the books this weekend! I have offered my collection of MJ Arlidge books to a friend, so I needed to catch up with books #3 and #4 in the series. After a disappointing experience reading Pop Goes the Weasel, the second book in the series, but loving Eeny Meeny and Little Boy Blue, books #1 and #5, I was pleased to discover that The Doll’s House was true to form and a really gripping page turner.

It follows DI Helen Grace as she tries to solve a series of unusual murders that have gone completely unnoticed for a number of years. The perpetrator is clever, sneaky and leaves few clues behind. Byt Grace is up against the clock as another girl has gone missing and her life undoubtedly hangs in the balance.

The writing is once again superb, and careers along at a furious pace. By the last 40 or so pages I could barely look up as I was so eager to get to the conclusion of the story. This is another fabulous thriller from Arlidge and well-worth a read.

Little Boy Blue by MJ Arlidge (5/5)

Posted March 15, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

Little Boy Blue by MJ Arlidge (5/5)Little Boy Blue (Helen Grace, #5) by M.J. Arlidge
Series: ,
Published by Michael Joseph on April 26th 2016
Genres: Crime, Fiction, Psychological Thriller
Pages: 400
Format: ARC, Kindle
Source: NetGalley
Buy on Amazon.co.uk | Buy on BookDepository
View on Goodreads

The UK's most exciting new crime-writing talent.
The death of a young man, found cocooned in plastic, looks like it was a tragic accident -- a sex game gone wrong. But when another lifeless victim is found days later, wrapped tight, DI Helen Grace knows that she's on the hunt for a serial killer.

I received a copy of this book via NetGalley in return for an honest review. Thank you to NetGalley, Random House and MJ Arlidge for the opportunity to read this book.

Back in November last year, I read and absolutely loved Eeny Meeny, the first book in Arlidge’s Helen Grace series. However last month when I picked up Pop Goes the Weasel, the second book in the series, I couldn’t even finish it. I was so disappointed in it when compared to the brilliant first book.

So it’s fair to say I was a bit trepidatious to read and review this novel, being unsure which way it was going to fall.

I needn’t have worried. This is a brilliant book from start to finish. The cases this time bring Grace and her team into the dark world of S&M, where someone is targeting people who work as professional dominants. However, with very little evidence to go on, the investigations are slow going and full of fits and starts, until a pattern starts to emerge.

I can’t say too much more without giving the ending away, but the twists and turns in this book are fantastic! It’s fair to say I didn’t see the ending coming, and I think everyone who’s read it is now waiting with bated breath for the 6th installment in the series!

If you like dark and twisting psychological thrillers, then this is most definitely a book you should read! The only downside to the book is I now have a stonking book hangover, and have no idea what I’m going to read next in order to shift it!

Pop Goes the Weasel by M.J. Arlidge (DNF)

Posted February 2, 2016 in Book Review / 0 Comments

Pop Goes the Weasel by M.J. Arlidge (DNF)Pop Goes the Weasel (Helen Grace, #2) by M.J. Arlidge
Published by Penguin Books (UK) on September 11th 2014
Genres: Crime, Fiction, Psychological Thriller
Pages: 426
Format: Paperback
View on Goodreads

DI Helen Grace returns in Pop Goes the Weasel, the electrifying new thriller from M. J. Arlidge.
The body of a middle-aged man is discovered in Southampton's red-light district - horrifically mutilated, with his heart removed.
Hours later - and barely cold - the heart arrives with his wife and children by courier.
A pattern emerges when another male victim is found dead and eviscerated, his heart delivered soon afterwards.
The media call it Jack the Ripper in reverse; revenge against the men who lead sordid double lives visiting prostitutes. For Grace, only one thing is certain: there's a vicious serial-killer at large who must be halted at all costs . . .

Last year I read Eeny Meeny by M.J Arlidge and absolutely loved it! I rated it 4½ stars and rushed out to buy the next 3 books in the series, ready to be all up-to-date for the fifth in the series which is released later this year. After a disappointing January, I decided to pick up this fail-safe to get me back on the reading track.

WHAT. A. DISAPPOINTMENT!

Whereas the first book had involved a clever storyline, with innocent victims, a moral conundrum and a pace of writing that really caught you up in the story; this second book is a lot slower. Coupled with the fact the victims are men who visit prostitutes (usually with a wife and kids at home), and the perpetrator is a prostitute herself, it’s hard to muster up any kind of sympathy for the victims. The whole thing is seedy and dark, and as such I found it very slow going. I eventually abandoned the book in deep disappointment.

Here’s hoping the next read it the one to bring me out of this slump!

Eeny Meeny by M.J. Arlidge

Posted November 25, 2015 by Babs in Book Review / 0 Comments
Eeny Meeny by M.J. Arlidge

Sometimes a book appeals to you so much you pick it up in the library only to discover when you get home the exact same book is already on Mt. TBR! That’s exactly what happened with “Eeny Meeny“. The premise is engaging and terrifying. Two people are abducted. They’re locked somewhere remote and unknown; given no food or water, and […]